Skip to main content

Featured Post

Writing from the Dark Side

Heh! I started out calling this blog post "Blogging from the Darkside" and then went to "Writing from the Darkside" and then went on to finally arrive at "Pubbing from the Darkside".  This little tidbit of information should be able to give you a little hint over what has been happening at the Oliver Homestead since I last posted.

Big News! I am part of a great collaboration with a collection of Writers who decided that if a romance book should be done, it should be done by us! Hence, the beginning of what is now know as Welcome to Serenity Harbor, Maine.

This is huge! This is ginormous! All of the books are set around the fictional coastal Maine town of Serenity Harbor. We didn't limit genre, only that their characters fall in love in Maine.

For me, this was a return to something that I love... well, yes... it was a return to writing. I've blogged a little bit about some of my struggles with illness that left with being unable to write for a whi…

Recurring Themes...

It seems as if there is one particular theme that seems to come into just about all that I write. It doesn't matter what I set out to put to paper (or computer screen), but somehow it becomes a base of my stories. It's grief. Perhaps, it's because I've had such a personal relationship with this emotion, or that it's something that seems to revolve and evolve with greater intensity with each generation in my family, but either way, I seem to embroider this emotion into my stories with greater intensity.

Some would think that this denotes a sense of depression, but I actually think it's a way for my mind to evaluate and deal with the emotion. Even when I was involved with Maine Ghost Hunters I found that the cases that had the greatest pull on me emotionally and physically were the ones that involved a family's sense of grieving. To have that need to react and reach out to those that have passed can bring a family or loved one to the greatest of efforts to continue the bond.

Yesterday, two of the younger people that work with me, a brother and sister, lost their mother suddenly. I grieve with them, though I hardly knew their mom. But I do know about the emotions they are experiencing. Grief affects everyone differently, but the sense of loss is the same. That difference is in how our minds handle the emotion. The seven stages of grief are 1) shock and denial, 2) pain and guilt, 3) anger and bargaining, 4) Depression, reflection and lonliness, 5) The upward turn, 6) Reconstruction and working through it, 7) Acceptance and hope.

Very few will experience these stages in order. Some jump right to anger and bargaining, others with work in a numbed shock until the body can no longer deny what it needs to assess. But it's important to remember that just because someone doesn't experience a certain stage it doesn't mean that the emotions aren't real.

This past summer we lost my dad-in-law. He was an incredible man who is greatly missed. Each of the 9 children and my mother-in-law... not to mention the daughter and son-in-laws an assortment of grandchildren, have all experienced the grief in their own way. Each plays a role with the process and each has to find that way that works best for them. Sometimes, as in the grief of losing my own mother, it doesn't ever go away. It's the same for my husband's family.

This kind of emotion is among the strongest that any soul will ever experience. This speaks to others when it's written well within a story. I guess for now, the journey and the inclusion of grief within my stories will continue. 


Popular posts from this blog

Another Loss...

Another young person from our community passed away yesterday.

For me, all I know is the grief I feel that yet another life has gone way too soon. Maybe I'm getting old. I've seen far too much of this and it's heartbreaking every single time, whether they are related or not. We are community. We are family. In this case, he was family, but that doesn't mean anything when you grow up in a small place. Every child is your child. And every hurt they have is yours.

Out of this long list of young people that have left us too soon, there are so many left behind that still mark the holidays, birthdays and life events that they have missed. We struggle, knowing that the pain we feel is as much for ourselves as it is for them. We share our memories with others, many times through social media, so that their memory, their presence lives on around us.

Every day when my son leaves I tell him to be safe. He finds it funny that I still continue to do so, but if it's that one re…

10 Things I learned from Hosting a Guest on my Blog

Hosting on my blog is a new experience for me. It's something that I've thought of undertaking for quite some time, but until now I wasn't sure that I could do. Thursday, I hosted friend and fellow adventurer, Diane Amos, who talked about her path to publication with her latest Five Star book, Promise Me Forever. We talked about this for awhile before attempting it.

Neither of us was sure just what was going to happen, but in the end I was happy with the results. We ended up with 27 visitors for the blog and around 10 comments (I think). This may not seem like much, but considering that this is about five times the normal visitors/daily that I get I was pretty darned happy with it. There were a few things that I worked out along the way and I'll pass these tips on to anyone who may be interested in hosting or being part of a blog tour.

1. Decide the topic to be discussed keeping it to something that will be of interest to your blog readers. If you write a research bl…


We have the cover and that is a really good thing! Especially, since it's a really great cover!

This has been THE project for the last six months. Much of that time has been spent writing my part of the anthology, a novella called ONLY YOU. Another part of that was working with my friend and cohorts to come up with this great anthology! Why wouldn't you enjoy it?! It's filled with stories of love that are all set around the fictional Maine town of Serenity Harbor. Want to know which town Serenity Harbor is patterned after? We'll never tell... well, maybe we will!

Anyway, who can write better about love in Maine than a bunch of Maine Romance authors! I gave you a tantalizing tidbit the other day from my story. Poor Nate Cooper, he doesn't know what he's up against when he decides to take on Kara Simpson. Lucky for him, he's got the whole town behind him!

And what is this rumor of sheep wandering the streets of Serenity Harbor, Maine? Well, you'll just ha…